Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

June 24, 2019

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

The term of office currently held by the Honorable George C. Buck James Jr., Justice of the Supreme Court, Seat 5, will expire July 31, 2020.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 7, will expire June 30, 2020.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 11, will expire June 30, 2020.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Thomas A. Russo, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 12, will expire June 30, 2020.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Larry B. Hyman Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 13, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2020. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2026.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Gordon B. Jenkinson, Judge of the Family Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2020. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Michael S. Holt, Judge of the Family Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2020.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Dorothy Mobley Jones, Judge of the Family Court, Fifth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon her retirement on November 30, 2018. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2022.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Debra A. Matthews, Judge of the Family Court, Sixth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2020.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Jocelyn B. Cate, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 5, upon her retirement on or before June 30, 2020. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2026.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Tommy B. Edwards, Judge of the Family Court, Tenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2019. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Tarita A. Dunbar, Judge of the Family Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2020.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Peter L. Fuge, Judge of the Family Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2019. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2022.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Ronald R. Norton, Judge of the Family Court, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2020.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Kelly Pope-Black, Judge of the Family Court, At-Large, Seat 1. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Harold W. "Bill" Funderburk Jr., Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2020.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 4, will expire June 30, 2020.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook, Master-in-Equity, Berkely County, will expire November 7, 2020.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel
Post Office Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov
(803) 212-6689

Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, at (803) 212-6623 or LindiPutnam@scsenate.gov.

The Commission will not accept applications after 12:00 Noon on Wednesday, July 24, 2019.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the Commission website at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.